What are the insurance laws in New Hampshire?
In the state of New Hampshire, most drivers are not required to carry insurance. For those purchasing auto insurance, the minimum requirements are as follows in New Hampshire:
- $25,000 per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 per accident if more than one person is injured
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
- $1,000 in medical payment benefits
What should I do if an uninsured driver hit my car?
If you have been involved in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver, make sure you take certain steps to protect your rights and your health:
- Get the police involved – Have the police investigate your accident. If you’re at the scene of the crash, call the police and tell them you have been in an accident with an uninsured driver. If your accident happened a few days ago, file a motor vehicle accident report with New Hampshire’s Division of Motor Vehicles.
- Get the driver’s information – Make sure you have the other driver’s name, address, driver’s license number, and other personal information. Even if the driver doesn’t have car insurance, it’s important that you have a way to contact the at-fault driver later.
- Visit your doctor – Seek immediate medical attention for potential injuries. You could have a serious injury and not even realize it. Insurance companies often need proof of an injury when paying a car accident claim.
- Don’t discuss your crash – Anything you say or write about your accident could be used to deny your accident claim. As a result, don’t discuss your accident at the scene of the crash or anywhere else. This is especially true when talking to insurance companies. Don’t talk about your accident. Leave that to your attorney.
- Call a lawyer – The sooner you have a lawyer investigating your accident, the better. Your attorney can deal with your insurance company, the uninsured driver and anyone else who may be responsible for compensating you for your uninsured motorist claim. Your lawyer can also help you take legal action, including filing a lawsuit, if necessary.
How do I file an uninsured accident claim?
In general, if you are involved in an accident caused by a driver who does not have car insurance, you will need to file an accident claim with your own insurance company. Filing a claim with your insurance provider will likely be easier if you have uninsured motorist coverage. But even if you do not have such coverage, your best place to start is to file an accident claim with your insurance company.
An experienced car accident lawyer can help you file an uninsured motorist claim. Make sure the attorney you choose has experience dealing with insurance companies in your state. The reason why is each state has different rules when it comes to accident claims involving uninsured drivers.
How much money is my claim worth?
The value of your car accident claim should equal the total financial impact of your accident as well as pain & suffering and loss of enjoyment of life. As a result, you should be paid for all your bills (medical bills, car repair costs, etc.) associated with your crash. You should also receive money for all the income you may have lost as a result of your accident. If you sustained a severe injury, you might not be able to work for several weeks or months or perhaps even longer.
But just because your claim might be worth thousands of dollars or even more does not mean you will get the money, especially if your crash was caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. That’s why it’s important to seek legal advice right away. A lawyer can explain your options and guide you through the process, including pursuing a settlement claim on your behalf for all your car accident expenses.
Underinsured motorists could cost you
It is always advised that motorists purchase a policy extending beyond the minimum amount. This is because in the event of an accident, an underinsured motorist will simply not have enough coverage to properly address the needs of your accident. You will have to have a skilled attorney on your side to fight against their insurance company, or go after their personal assets in order to claim the compensation that you deserve.
In New Hampshire, underinsured motorist coverage is in most cases included when you purchase a liability policy.
The moment when you find out the driver who struck you has no insurance is a terrifying one. It's against the law to not carry the minimum amount of auto insurance or otherwise demonstrate financial responsibility in New Hampshire, but some drivers still break those laws. You will likely have a hard time being compensated for your loss and hardship.
An uninsured motorist can be nearly impossible to get compensation from after your accident. If you have uninsured motorist coverage (which is highly advisable), you may be able to obtain money from your own insurance company for your accident. But it might not be enough. Going after personal assets may be an option, but possibly not a viable one. If the other driver couldn't afford car insurance, odds are they don't have any assets. But don't give up. We can help you explore every legal option. That's what we do. We never give up. It's why we've been in business since 1870. At our firm, we simply do not stop until we get results.
We will fight for your compensation
You may have only found out recently that the other driver doesn't have insurance or is underinsured. Now what? Who pays? Where will the money come from? Our experienced car accident attorneys can help. Contact us for a free case evaluation with an attorney from one of the oldest firms in New Hampshire. We're dedicated to your cause. Your priority is our priority.